14 Comments

Lee: As soon as someone chimes in here that the worst gift ever received was a subscription to the Lee Judge blog, I'd block him or her forever. Merry Christmas.

Expand full comment

Smacks (local hamburger chain)gift certificates when I was very young from an aunt..

Expand full comment

An inflatable rubber boat to go fishing. I could just imagine flying across the lake like a popped balloon the first time it caught a fish hook.

Expand full comment

Our first Xmas in Raleigh, Xmas eve, we had friends over to celebrate. There were gifts under the tree and we decided to open all in view of our friends, with whom we also shared gifts. My box from Dwane was the size of a shirt box, but heavy. He opened the new stereo I gave him and then I opened my "shirt box". It was a disassembled Rubbermaid footstool ($8). As I looked at Dwane with questioning eyes, he chirped "now you don't have to ask me to reach things for you anymore!" After the scorn he received from our friends and my sad eyes, all future gifts from him were expensive and more personal. RIP Dwane.

Expand full comment

When I was 11, I wanted a Monkees album. My mom got me The Animals, claiming that “Monkeys were animals.”

My anger and disappointment were off the charts. I was just about to enter the “nobody understands me!” stage of life, I felt completely justified.

Expand full comment